top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea K

PASSION 2019

Here's to new beginnings & growing in our faith


"Okay everyone, we will be landing soon. Make sure you have those seatbelts on!" said the pilot. As soon as I got off the plane, I saw my dear friend, Sami, waiting for me! She and I have become greatest of friends through CSF at IU! I had just arrived in Indy and we were about to spend a few days together during our winter break. We were so excited!

*Also, you should know that I am currently listening to Disney music for some writing inspiration because Sami is the biggest Disney fan I know! :)

Jan. 2

We got up early the next morning and headed to Sami's church, Chapel Rock. We were all still sleepy with our eyes halfway open, but my excitement was still showing through my smile. I met some friends from Sami's church and a couple of her leaders, too! I'm pretty sure I fell back asleep once I got on the shuttle (before we even left, ha!) And sure enough, we were on our way to Washington, D.C. for the Passion Conference!


It was a long 11-hour drive, but at last, we had made it! The first session of the conference began that first night and we were all so eager to dive into our faith! It was incredible to see hundreds of people gathered outside the Anthem Theatre to worship and celebrate our Savior!



The sounds of the theatre illuminated as a Christain band started us out strong! I could feel everyone's energy around me. I was meant to be here at that moment.


The first session began with a devotion from Louie Giglio. He is the founder of Passion, which is truly miraculous! This conference is held at three other locations along with Washington, D.C.; two in Atlanta, and one in Texas. They had everyone in a huge video conference so we could see everyone who was involved in Passion. It was pretty incredible to see how technology can bring us together.


Louie taught us how to live as a child of God. Romans 8 is a great story that he shared with us. This tells us that as brothers and sisters, we will live fully if we pour our hearts out to God. This reminds me of the beautiful song, "No Longer Slaves," for we are all children of God and he watches over us and protects us.


We are forgiven and protected by a God who is here for us and will never forsake us. Louie wrote Not Forsaken and it truly impacted my life! I learned about the different Father figures in our lives and how we see God, our heavenly Father. It spoke to my heart as I read about the different perspectives and I encourage you to read it, too!


This closed our first night and I was so full of encouragement and love! I knew that this was going to be a weekend I will never forget, and I was eager for more. More music, more devotions, more prayer, and more words of the Bible! I could barely sleep that night (just kidding, I was exhausted and slept so sound!)


Jan. 3 (My twentieth birthday!)

Session two was presented by Ira. She shared her magnificent story about spreading God's word to the Deaf community in 10 different countries! This truly spoke to my heart because of my passion for ASL! I had been active in the Deaf community since I took it in high school and I continue to take the language at IU. I recently created my own ASL minor! It was amazing to see Ira use her talents and share it with a community of people who may not know about Christ. She did something small and meaningful that made a huge impact on those around her. Truly remarkable!


We also heard from Chad that God gives us strength, hope, empowerment, and comfort from Psalm 91. It says, "Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shallow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, "He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, whom I trust." Through the highs and lows, I trust God and know that he will help guide me through this rocky road of life.


Sydney, Me, Maddy, & Sami

In session three, we learned from Gary that everything we need is found in God's presence. On a day like today, the sun is shining as I feel the warmth on my face. I know it's hard to think that things will be okay as we sit here in a world of the unknown in the future. It's hard to see God's presence sometimes. We feel pain in our chests as we continue to wait and pray for hope and a better world. Continue to read scripture and find hope in His word.


Session four gave me a new perspective. Matt talked about John 4 and that we can't hide from our sin. God forgives us no matter what. We all make mistakes-we're human. Sin will always try and grab at our hearts to steer us away from Christ. I have learned over the past year that we will stumble and fall. Sometimes we don't make the smartest choices and for me, that was a struggle with money. I am still learning how to budget and still enjoy myself at college, but Sin definitely got to me in those tough moments. Now I am stronger and making better choices for myself! I had to first admit my issue in order to move forward and make a change. Things can't change unless you put in the effort. Just like your faith, if you find yourself steering away from the path of Christ, talk to some friends, an adult, a loved one, and find your way back to being closer to our Savior! Anything can happen if you let it!


Me, Sami, & Emilee

Jan. 4

Lastly, Christine spoke to us in session five. I remember crying during this one and in my Bible, I wrote: She is my favorite! She preached about many stories of the Bible where people were foolish. But, they overcame their actions by trusting in God, which is why all things are possible through Christ! I love it when she speaks because she pulls from many Biblical stories and finds a central connection that I wouldn't have thought about before. She speaks with passion and encouragement and praise. She has that motherly tone in her voice that makes me feel connected to her, even without ever meeting her in real life. She has many videos on Instagram and YouTube and you should check them out!


This weekend was unforgettable thanks to Sami, Emilee, Sydney, and Maddy! These girls have become some of my closest friends and they all encourage me to grow in my faith- I am truly blessed for them! We got to celebrate my 20th birthday here, and that was significant in my life. I felt that it was a perfect time for me to start my twenties with a fresh start in my faith. It was also right after the new year, so another perfect time to start 2019 on a high note. We also shared numerous laughs as we played numerous rounds of Euchre with John Hicks! Okay, I had to learn since everyone else knew how to play, but John Hicks helped me with his funny jokes and kind heart!


I also want to give a special thank you to one of our leaders, Nick! He and John made this trip unforgettable and a fun experience! I am so thankful to have had this experience and to spend it with Sami! Thank you for inviting me, because this is one of the best things I've ever experienced!


While in D.C., we also got to explore the city of D.C.! The last time I was here was back in 8th grade, so it was nice to go on an adventure as a young adult and see those spectacular landmarks! We saw the White House, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, National Mall, U.S. Capitol, and the Thomas Jefferson Memorial. There was so much history that we got to see in one day. I was able to explore with Sami, Emilee, Halle, Josh, and Zach and get to know them better!


Thank you, God, for giving me this wonderful opportunity to grow in my faith with some incredible people! I can't imagine my life without this wonderful opportunity. This is only one stepping stone on my faith journey-I still have my whole life ahead of me! As Moana says, "I can lead with pride, I can make us strong...No one knows how deep it goes! It seems like it's calling out to me.." Jesus has called me to be here in this moment and to bring my joy and light to others. He has called me to take this experience and share it with others. One day, I will know how far my faith can take me, but for now, I will focus on the present. I will shine my light now to everyone around me-it only starts with a simple act of kindness. I hope you can find your calling. He is always here for you and only a prayer away. Thank you, Sami, for always standing by my side and helping me grow in my faith more and more every day!


Through the laughter, hugs, and tears, I will forever remember how Passion changed my life and I hope to attend it again someday!


You've got this. Don't give up when things get hard because those moments are here to teach you. You've got this and you are capable of more than you know. You've got this because He will never leave your side. ✝


It is well with my soul

♡, Chels




Zach, Sami, Me, Emilee, Halle, & Josh











15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page