top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea K

GROW AS WE GROW

Bloom where you are right now

In a world full of uncertainty about the future, it can be hard to get stuck in a rut. I have experienced some hardships, but I know that my life could be very different at any moment. I simply take it one day at a time and I am thankful for where I am at today. Everyone is facing their own battles and what you are feeling is very valid. The sun still shines and the moon still appears in the night, just the way God shows up in our life. The way I see it, we are actually interacting socially more than ever through technology. It's the physical distance (than social distance) that we need to maintain so we can keep each other safe and flatten the curve. It's important to keep the social communication through our devices. Not ideal to stay on it all day, of course, but a phone call a day can ease your mind. It's almost as if doing nothing is the best thing for the world right now. But, there are so many ways in which you can grow and bloom where you are during this difficult time.


Focus on what you can do right now. Though we are limited in certain areas, you can make tiny adjustments to improve in areas you didn't realize before. This may be something to help your mental health or to improve your physicality. Whatever it may be, just take it day by day and one step at a time. Put one foot in front of the other! Soon you'll do something you never thought you could!


Set goals! I am a huge fan of goal setting and it's something that keeps me going in life. I also like to write these goals down in a journal or even in the Notes app of my phone. Adding a checkmark next to the things/tasks I achieve brings satisfaction and completion to my day. This goes hand and hand with list-making, which I also love. Making a list of things to do or fun ways to keep myself entertained also helps the time go by faster in this uncertain time. I enjoy being organized and color-coding a journal, agenda, or list is something to keep me busy that brings joy into my day.


Be motivated! Bring encouragement and strive to be greater than the day before! I love following my passions and chasing after something I love. Sometimes I get in a mood where I don't feel like I know or understand my passions. After simply listening to my favorite song or podcast, I can be reminded of the things that I love to do. I grab my journal and a pen and write about my inspirations. I also set my alarm every morning. I know it can be annoying and sometimes I will take a break for a few days to not be woken up by a clock but, it's also a small way to keep me on schedule. I'm definitely the type of person where "The early bird gets the worm." On lazy days, I enjoy late movie nights with popcorn, but I mostly enjoy waking up early and starting my day with a workout and a healthy breakfast. Recently, I have been enjoying working out in the mornings in my family room as I watch the sun shine through our windows. Life is so beautiful! Do what makes you happy and motivates you!


Do what you love and love what you do! Most importantly, enjoy what you are doing and appreciate those moments of happiness. See the small things that you love about life and write it out! Some things on my list would include:


Sunshine

Yellow

Worship

My journal

Family & friends

My dogs

Outdoors

Dance

Music

Photography

Smiles

Hugs

Pineapples

Push-ups

Flowers


My Bible

The blue sky

Water

Laughter

Sleep


In this time, I have definitely learned to appreciate the small things in life. It's strange to live in a time like this, but I believe that it was God's way of telling me to slow down. This semester was getting so busy and hectic and I felt myself feeling a lot of moments of frustration. Reading the e-mail from IU stating that we wouldn't be coming back for the rest of the semester was one of the hardest things I had to realize. It's been a journey since reading that in March and in some ways, the time has been going by much faster than I would have thought. I am thankful for the sunshine every day (almost every day since I live in Indiana) and waking up in the comfort of my home. Life isn't simple and 2020 has proven that for sure. God has a plan and though we don't understand it yet, he will provide and take care of us.


Pray often! Lastly, remember to pray. Think of your loved ones, those who have passed during this time, and those who are struggling more and more each day. Just like Noah and the Ark, God had a plan for him even when he didn't understand. He was entering so much uncertainty and still put his full trust in him. In the end, he found land and a beautiful rainbow cast over him and the world was good and right with God. It wasn't easy, but he listened to our Lord and moved forward into the unknown (who doesn't love Frozen 2, right?)


Read Genesis 6-9



Thank our heavenly Father every day. Bloom today. Bloom tomorrow. Bloom into the unknown. Grow in new ways and flourish, persevere, and commit. Pray for everyone. Pray for courage and patience. Be kind and don't be fearful. Take a chance. Be brave like Noah. Be yourself.



It is well with my soul

♡, Chels


John 3:16

"Today's little moments become tomorrow's precious memories."





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page