top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea K

IT IS WELL WITH MY SOUL

A memory from August 2017



I couldn't contain my excitement. This was the moment I had been waiting for. The anticipation and nerves sank in on the B bus at Indiana University in little Bloomington, Indiana. I was going to meet my new friend, Lydia, at the Christian Student Fellowship house (CSF) for their weekly event called Encounter. I had been waiting for a moment like this for many years. One of my main goals as a freshman in college was to find a Christian community, hoping that one would feel like home to me.


The bus had arrived and I was anxiously looking at the address on my phone as I was looking for the right house to enter. I was so lost! There are so many huge and beautiful houses on this part of campus. I didn't see any huge signs like "WELCOME TO CSF INCOMING FRESHMAN!" Or any people talking in large groups outside. I felt so lost and continued to just walk around on my own. I tried to contact my friend Lydia, but I knew she was probably busy getting ready. So I just wandered around like a lost puppy trying to find his way home.


At last, I found this sign between two small bushes that read "Christain Student Fellowship." It was right in front of me the whole time! Wow, silly Chelsea. I walked up the large set of stairs with butterflies in my stomach. This was my calling and I felt that God brought Lydia into my life to find this community. Once I found Lydia, she introduced me to some friends and everyone had so much energy and so many smiles. I felt instantly loved and welcomed by so many people.


Now Lydia and many others lived at this house, so a lot of my friends had already gotten to know each other by this time.



The lights dimmed as everyone's voices got a little softer. The worship team welcomed us that evening with some music and Bible verses to reflect on. I instantly teared up. I truly felt God's presence at that moment. I felt his hands on my shoulders and guiding me into one of His houses of love and grace. I raised a hand during the worship songs as my heart glowed on the inside.


I remember that the message that night also spoke to my heart. I wish I kept a journal back at this moment to remember my emotions and what we learned, but I am almost positive that we heard Josh Reynolds speak. He is one of my most inspirational and knowledgable leaders that I know. His love for Christ is spectacular and I love the energy that he brings to CSF.


Encounter had ended about an hour later and I could not stop smiling. I hugged Lydia and my new friends goodbye as I got back on the bus to go back to my dorm. My heart continued to glow as I just felt overwhelmed with love and grace by everyone at CSF. I knew at this moment and many moments before that this would be a place that I call HOME. I felt so blessed that God brought Lydia into my life to guide me at the start of this journey - now we are best friends and I can't imagine life without her and all of my friends from CSF!



I love the community, culture, atmosphere and safe environment. I can truly say that I am able to be myself and spread my love for Christ with a group of other believers. We all come from different paths and I think that is so touching that we come together and grow and love in our faith in this space.


I can honestly say that I can't imagine my life without CSF. This supportive group of friends and leaders has helped me through the good and challenging times of life. People pray for me, hug me when I cry, and care for me in a way that I haven't felt before. They are a part of my family.


I have always been a believer of God and Jesus Christ as I grew up in the Methodist church, and I can feel that my spirit and soul has evolved through CSF as I connect in my faith on a deeper level.


CSFormals, game nights, Halloween parties, CSF Retreat, CSF Women's Retreat, cookouts, Encounters, and many more fun events have allowed me to connect with these amazing people and grow in these friendships. I would say that I have a great number of friends, overall, who are followers and not followers and that is OK! I think that it allows the followers to reach out to those who aren't or maybe struggling and to be a LIGHT in their life. Matthew 5:15-16 teaches us to be a light for others and I feel that it has been my calling in the different communities I associate with.


God has a plan for all of us! Whether that be happening right now for us, or if it will happen later in our future, the important thing is to TRUST in Him and to keep sharing the good news about his GLORY. A great friend of mine once said, "...trust that God’s plan is better than our plan and He will make things all work out for His good so you can have peace in knowing that so whatever ever happens with Him, it was all part of the plan and will be amazing." I love this advice because life throws us so many unexpected curveballs and I encourage you to pick up your Bible and read some scripture to help guide you. He will teach us the way, and the truth, and the light and I believe that he is miraculous.




BE BOLD! Make new friends and try new things. You never know where it may lead you! I tried different church groups just to see if I liked something else other than CSF, but I kept hearing my call to CSF. I hope you can find your faith community that you call HOME. You are not alone in this, as brothers and sisters of Christ, we will guide your hand and support you on this journey of knowing our Savior. ✝


It is well with my soul

♡, Chels

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page