top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea K

LESSONS FROM A BUTTERFLY

In loving memory of Mrs. Nowicki

This is the story of one of the most influential role models in my life! She never gave up on me and always believed in me. I still remember running across my yard as a child to visit her during the holidays to bring her and her and her husband Christmas cookies. They would welcome us inside and we would enjoy some yummy candy as we chatted to avoid going back out in the cold. They were the nicest couple and always enjoyed our company. They would always greet us with a smile and I enjoyed our conversations as we sat in lawn chairs in their driveway. This couple also reminded me of the couple from the Disney Pixar movie, UP.

In their house, they had two chairs by their living room window so they could watch the world chase by. They were always there for each other and stood by the other's side through thick and thin. I admire them for their love and determination through life. I sometimes catch a tear roll down my cheek every now and again as I remember them and the impact they had on my life.


I think my connection with Mr. and Mrs. Nowicki became its strongest when I was in high school. I started to help them out with their yard since we lived next door. I would go outside and help them pick up the sticks in their yard and other yard work-often finding myself chatting with them once I got the job done. In the winter, I would wake up at 5 a.m. before school and shovel/snow blow their driveway. Our bond grew tighter and I loved knowing that I was helping them greatly.


Mr. Nowicki reminded me of Carl Fredrickson from UP for his appearance. He walked with a cane and wore glasses, just like Carl. I remember that even when he grew older, he would try to be outside as much as he could. He was determined to do as much as he could, no matter his age. When he was sick, Mrs.Nowicki stood by his side and took care of him always. I admire them for being a strong power couple. As time passed by, it was time for him to greet the gates of Heaven. I remember this being a hard time for me as we attended the funeral in the midst of my dance performances during Christmas time. I miss him dearly, too, and I made sure to continue to help Mrs. Nowicki as much as I could.



She and I would talk for hours and hours and often loose track of time on the weekends. She was so easy to talk to and became a very close friend of mine. It was hard when it was time for me to leave for college. I made sure we exchanged phone numbers and I gave her my dorm address. For my first apartment, she was so gracious by giving me some of her beautiful dishes and a vacuum sweeper (it's light pink and definitely nothing like her personality, which makes it an even better memory!)


I made the effort to visit her at every break when I came home from college. I was always so excited to see her and catch up on what was going on in my life! I remember not to long ago when she had to move out of her home to a retirement home. This was one of the hardest things for her because I know how much she loved to do things on her own and take care of her gardens. It was so different when I came home to know that she wasn't five feet away and that I had to drive to see her. But that didn't matter, I made sure to drive to see her so we could have our talks and catch up on the craziness of life.


It's now about a month since she has passed and I often still think of her and pray to her. It's hard writing this, but it's also nice to think about her memories. I know that she is in a better place and dancing among the angels! I would like to share a few lessons that she taught me. Though our time was short, it sure felt like forever as I often lost track of time when we were together. She reminds me of a gorgeous butterfly who flew through life with beauty and grace.


BE STRONG & COURAGEOUS

Mrs. Nowicki was definitely strong! She didn't let anything stand in her way. I remember her taking her daily walks down her driveway to get her mail or in her backyard to check on her garden. As time went by, she wasn't able to walk that distance so I would help her with her mail and taking out the trash and recycling bins. I loved helping her even in the smallest ways. She remained as strong as she possibly could. She also battled breast cancer and I admire her for being so strong through the process.


I remember her telling me, "Chelsea, you can do anything you set your mind to. Keep pushing hard and I know that you will accomplish your goals." This has always stayed with me when I encounter something hard. I know she always wanted to watch me dance and she felt bad when she wasn't able to. Recently, I was excited to show her a dance I choreographed called "Hallelujah," but unfortunately I wasn't able to. Soon, I would love to create a dance in her honor!


"You and me, we're in a club now." (Disney's Pixar UP)


BELIVE IN YOURSELF

Mrs. Nowicki was one of my biggest supporters. I would come to her with my struggles in life and she would give me the best advice. Even if she just listened to what I had to say, (I can talk a lot, haha!) she would be engaged in the conversation. I knew that she enjoyed the company. She also gave me advice about my faith and supported me in that journey. She was like a grandmother and best friend all in one. She would tell me, "This is your life. You're still young and can make it happen if you believe in yourself!" She's right, life is too short to not go out and do the things that make you happy!


Enjoy the little things in life for one day you'll look back and realize they were the big things.


IT'S OKAY TO CRY

Mrs. Nowicki saw me at my happiest times and at my worst. I remember crying with her over the struggles I was facing. She would listen and wouldn't bash on me for letting my feelings out. Sometimes, I have a hard time letting go of my feelings and being vulnerable. But, I've learned that being vulnerable and real with yourself about your emotions is important because that is showing your true colors. Don't try and hide it, because then those emotions will end up deep inside your mind. Share those emotions with those you love and they will never judge you because they love and accept you for YOU.


"Thanks for the adventure. Now, go have one of your own!" (Disney Pixar's UP)


This is just a new chapter of my life and that I will always have Mrs. Nowicki by my side. She didn't always like her photo to be taken, but I am glad she was willing to take a couple with me. I cherish these photos to remember the laughs we shared together. I think it was for Mother's Day last year when I printed off one of the photos and framed it for her as a gift along with some flowers.


I hope to one day find a love as strong as Mr. and Mrs. Nowicki's. A love that lasts forever and never gives up. A love that blossoms and grows through all the phases of life. A love that is endless and challenges each other in their faith. Mrs. Nowicki reminds me of a sweet butterfly. Beautifully free, she brought me wisdom, hope, and encouragement. Her arms were stretched wide open for a hug every time I would visit. I will continue to go through life in remembrance of her and to love life to its fullest and to stay true to my faith. I love you Mrs. Nowicki and I will always miss you dearly. I wish you were here by side and telling me more about your life and giving me advice. Thank you for your positive impact on my life, teaching me more about Christ, and for helping me become who I am today! I'll see you again someday.


It is well with my soul

♡, Chels


Matthew 5:1-3

"Adventure is out there!" (Disney Pixar's UP)


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page